Patton Award Committee

Committee Members: Kayce Bell, John Demboski, Jake Esselstyn, Sharon Jansa, Hayley Lanier, and Rebecca Rowe (Chair)

Mission:

The James L. Patton award was established in 2015 to promote and support museum-based research by graduate student members of ASM. The award honors Jim's commitment to museum collections and their use in understanding the ecology and evolution of mammals, his passion for mentoring young mammalogists, and his long-standing service to the society.

Information Items:

- (1) The 2023 recipient of the Patton Award was Edú Guerra, a PhD student in the Biology Department at the University of Washington. The recipient was announced at the award ceremony at the Annual Meeting in June 2023.
- (2) We received 17 applications for the Patton Award in 2024. The recipient will be announced to the society at the closing event of the upcoming 2024 Annual Meeting.

Action Items:

(1) Budget request of \$5,000.00 for the 2025 recipient of the Patton Award.

Respectfully submitted,

Rebecca J. Rowe, Chair (rebecca.rowe@unh.edu)