Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, and Anti-Bias Committee

Committee members: T. Alberts, C. Calderon Acevedo, I. Castro-Arellano, E. Beasley, A. Cheeseman, L. Dizney, E. Flaherty, H. Gamblin, R. Jakopak (chair), A. Jensen, B. Klossing, J. Laney, L. Patrick, B. Rowe, L. Siciliano-Martina, R. Stein, K. Thorington, J. Varner, A. Weller, H. Wilson

Mission:

The mission of the IDEA Committee is to ensure the opportunity for active participation in the ASM by all members, regardless of gender, race, ethnic background, age, physical disabilities, or sexual orientation. This Committee serves the Society by working to encourage and facilitate an increase in the diversity of active participants of the Society by working to reduce all barriers to participation, service, and governance (especially those associated with under-represented groups). Accordingly, the Committee is examining approaches and efforts to increase diversity within the Society, especially the diversity of the participants in societal activities and functions. This Committee also plans and conducts various workshops, symposia, and other activities associated with its mission.

Information items, June 2024 to date:

(1) Field Futures Harassment and Assault Prevention in the Field Workshop: In 2023, we submitted a workshop proposal to bring the FieldFutures training to the 2024 Boulder meeting. Nine people registered for this workshop, which helped participants learn to prevent, intervene in, and report incidents of sexual harassment and assault in scientific or field settings. Thanks to the Board of Directors and the Program Committee for funding this workshop. Rhiannon Jakopak and Jesse Laney submitted the proposal.

(2) IDEA-related resources: In 2023, we built a list of resources to link to on the IDEA webpage. Resources included peer-reviewed articles, blog posts, and more and should serve as a jumping off point for those interested in learning more about IDEA-related topics in mammalogy. Over the past year, we added additional resources. Thanks to Brier Klossing and Leila Siciliano-Martina for identifying relevant, additional resources.

(3) Black and Indigenous Scholars Award: We received 23 applications and selected 4 recipients for the Black and Indigenous Scholars in Mammalogy Award. Madisun Woodward (University of Michigan), Lizzy Osterhoult (Montana State University), Cheyenne Graham (University of Michigan) and Alexander Fenlon (Arizona State University) were selected as the 2024 award recipients. Thanks to Jo Varner and Amanda Cheeseman with the IDEA Committee, and Asia Murphy, Christine Wilkinson, and Rhiannon Kirton with Black Mammalogists Week for reviewing applications and selecting recipients.

(4) Rising undergraduates in mammalogy travel support: We received 21 applicants and selected 5 recipients for the rising undergraduates in mammalogy travel support. Thanks to the Board of Directors' support, this award covered travel, lodging, food, and conference registration for 5

undergraduate students interested in pursuing a career in mammalogy. We selected Courtney Morgan, Kane Anaya, Patricia Sotelo Chavira, Erick Jesús García Trujano, and Andrea Aguirre Salazar. Thanks to Holly Gamblin and Tokay Alberts for reviewing and selecting applicants, and to Lorelei Patrick for helping support the award recipients before and during the conference.

(5) J. Mary Taylor Award: We received 2 nominations and selected 1 recipient for the 2025 J. Mary Taylor Award. The award recipient will be announced at the annual banquet. Thanks to Holly Gamblin, Hannah Wilson, and Leila Siciliano-Martina for reviewing nominations and selecting the recipient.

(6) Best practices survey: Through a survey of ASM membership, members of the IDEA Committee seek to identify 1) whether mammalogists are implementing recommended best practices to improve conditions within fieldwork and 2) whether mammalogists have the resources needed to ensure that best practices can be implemented. With this information in mind, we will then provide recommendations for how the ASM and other professional societies can play a role in ensuring that these recommendations are implemented. This survey has been approved by the Institutional Review Board at the University of Wyoming, and will be distributed to ASM members around the 2025 annual meeting. Jesse Laney, Emily Beasley, Alex Jensen, and Rhiannon Jakopak led survey development efforts.

(7) BIO-LEAPS engagement: We coordinated engagement with the NSF-supported BIO-LEAPS program, which seeks to support community building in professional societies through a multipronged approach. We distributed surveys regarding society climate and networks after the 2024 annual meeting, and many members of the society participated in an early career cohort that kicked off at the 2024 annual meeting. Additionally, society leaders and members met multiple times since the last annual meeting and identified activities that could help build community and maintain society engagement throughout the year. Unfortunately the funding for the BIO-LEAPS program was cut in early 2025, which terminated efforts for the activities. The IDEA Committee will still support data collection efforts by distributing surveys. We are grateful to all of the many ASM members who participated in the BIO-LEAPS program over the past year, and we are grateful to the BIO-LEAPS team (Richelle Tanner, Kate Wilsterman, and Elena Morales Poot) for all of their efforts.

(8) Societies Consortium on Sexual Harassment in STEMM: We continue to benefit from the information sharing opportunities provided by the Societies Consortium on Sexual Harassment in STEMM. We attended relevant webinars and read policy briefs as they emerged, which allowed us to stay abreast of changing laws and policies surrounding IDEA-related efforts.

(9) Transitioning committee leadership: Rhiannon Jakopak will step down as committee chair just before the 2025 annual meeting. Laurie Dizney and Tokay Alberts have volunteered to cochair the committee. We are grateful to their service and look forward to seeing what they accomplish with the committee.

Goals for June 2025 – June 2026:

(1) We will continue to administer the Black and Indigenous Scholars Award.

(2) We will continue to administer the J. Mary Taylor Award.

(3) With Board support, we hope to bring another round of Rising undergraduates in mammalogy to the 2025 annual meeting, with a focus on individuals who have backgrounds that have been marginalized in society or in science. We hope to connect with local and nearby undergraduate students, and we will work with ASM members that have connections in relevant places to solicit applicants.

(4) We will continue to update the resource list that is available on the ASM website.

(5) We will distribute the survey concerning field work best practices to the ASM membership, and work to analyze and disseminate results by the 2026 meeting.

(6) We will distribute surveys from the BIO-LEAPS program around the 2025 annual meeting.

(7) We will continue to participate in the information-sharing opportunities provided by the Societies Consortium on Sexual Harassment in STEMM and will update society leadership as needed.

Action items (for the Board of Directors):

(1) Budget requests:

- a) \$5,000: funding to be allocated to award the Black and Indigenous Scholars Award.
- **b**) \$350: funding to purchase the J Mary Taylor Award award.
- c) \$500: funding to pay for Societies Consortium on Sexual Harassment in STEMM membership dues.
- **d**) \$10,000: funding for the Rising undergraduates in mammalogy travel support program.
- e) \$2,000: funding to support the Black Mammalogists Week efforts in 2026. ASM has been a strong partner of Black Mammalogists Week in the past, and these funds will help support the infrastructure needed for the week.

Respectfully submitted,

Rhiannon Jakopak, Chair (asm.idea.committee@gmail.com)