## **Honorary Membership Committee**

Committee Members: E. J. Heske, D. A. Kelt, E. A. Lacey (Chair), E. P. Lessa, R. S. Sikes

## Mission:

The purpose of the Honorary Membership Committee is to present the credentials of potential honorary members for consideration by the membership at the annual Members' Meeting. Honorary Membership, the highest award offered by the ASM, recognizes eminent mammalogists who have rendered "distinguished service to the science of mammalogy." The Honorary Membership Committee is composed of the five most recent past presidents and is chaired by the second-most senior member of that group. The committee welcomes nominations from ASM members but may also propose or solicit nominations for prospective candidates. Nominations may be made to any committee member.

## **Information Items:**

(1) Short summaries of the merits of the 2024 Honorary Members (along with photos) are available on the ASM website.

(2) The Committee received three nominations for potential new Honorary Members. After careful deliberation, one of the proposed nominees was selected for further consideration by the Board of Directors and the ASM membership.

(3) Pending Board approval, the Committee will, during the annual Members' Meeting, move to elect this individual as an Honorary Member. Action Items:

(1) The committee would like the Board to consider revisions to some of the language used to describe the criteria for Honorary Membership, particularly on the ASM website. The committee will bring a proposal for such revisions to the Board Meeting for consideration by that group.

(2) Funds are requested to purchase a trophy for the 2025 Honorary Member, plus shipping. Trophy:  $1 \times \$200 = \$200$ ; shipping to ASM: est. \$50; shipping to recipients: est. \$150. Total requested = \$400.

## Respectfully submitted, E. A. Lacey (Chair) (ealacey@berkeley.edu)