African Research Fellowship Committee

Committee Members: Jesse M. Alston (chair), Terrence C. Demos, Marissa A. Dyck, Jacob R. Goheen (past chair), Prince Kaleme, Douglas Kamaru, Monica Lasky, Alicia V. Linzey, Molly M. McDonough, Patricia D. Moehlman, Ryan W. Norris, Link E. Olson (outgoing cochair), Safianu Rabiu, Chloé Warret Rodrigues, Robert K. Rose, Duane A. Schlitter, Matthew Snider, Sydney R. Stephens

Mission:

The African Research Fellowship Committee grants awards to African nationals pursuing graduate degrees in the form of \$1,750 grants and online membership in the American Society of Mammalogists. Eligible students must be citizens of African countries and currently enrolled in a degree-granting graduate program.

Information Items:

- (1) In 2024, the Committee awarded grants to the following seven recipients: Mohamed Hussein Ali (MSc student, University of Nairobi, Kenya), Patrice Delagnon Assou (PhD, University of Lome, Togo), Keneilweone Kejekgabo (MPhil, University of Botswana, Botswana), Howard Maimbo (PhD, University of Wyoming, Zambia), Getachew Mulualem (PhD, Masaryk University, Ethiopia), Elijah Okwuono (PhD, University of Nigeria, Nigeria), Mauricette Marie Rajaobelina (PhD, University of Antananarivo, Madagascar). More information about each recipient's research can be found on our web page.
- (2) In 2025, the Committee received 48 eligible applications from citizens of 15 African countries enrolled in 37 institutions spanning 16 countries and 3 continents. This is up from 41 eligible applications received in 2024.
- (3) The Committee received a total of \$25,630 in donations during the calendar year 2024. The Committee thanks all of these donors, especially Jim and Carol Patton (\$12,500), Diane and Doug Goheen (\$5,000), Alicia Linzey and Art Hulse (\$4,000), and John D. Haweeli (\$3,000).
- (4) As of 31 December 2024, the fund balance stood at \$219,200 (up from \$189,421 the previous year) and the rolling three-year average of the 4.5% interest was \$7,967, more than enough to sustain four \$1,750 awards annually from the fund's interest. In 2024, the Board approved awarding seven 2025 fellowships at \$1,750 each, a number and dollar amount of awards we hope to maintain going forward. Over the past 5 years, the African Research Fellowship Fund has grown by ~27% annually and received an average of \$27,772 in donations, which has allowed the fund to self-sustain almost one additional award each year. We expect this level of donor support to continue for the foreseeable future.
- (5) Jesse Alston became chair, and Link Olson maintained his position as co-chair.

Action Items:

- (1) The Committee seeks board approval to make seven \$1,750 awards in 2026, each also carrying a Carol & Jim Patton Award (3-year sponsored membership).
- (2) The Committee seeks board approval to award Carol & Jim Patton Awards (3-year sponsored membership) to additional meritorious applicants (for an overall funding rate of 30-40% of applicants, in line with success rates of other ASM awards for early-career researchers).
- (3) The Committee seeks to add the following members: Raymond Owino (2022 ARF awardee) and Patrice Delagnon Assou (2024 ARF awardee).
- (4) Former chair and current co-chair Link Olson will return to service as a regular Committee member.

Respectfully submitted,

Jesse M. Alston, Chair (<u>imalston@arizona.edu</u>) Link E. Olson, Co-chair (<u>link.olson@alaska.edu</u>)